Ice Vajal :: Music Land :: Metal World
editorial :: feedback :: newsletter ::  
   Bands :: A-Z / N / Nuclear Assault /

On disc: Nuclear Assault

- Live At The Hammersmith Odeon - Claudia Ehrhardt - 7 stars

Live At The Hammersmith Odeon

Live At The Hammersmith Odeon
(Relativity Rec. - 1990)

The American four-piece stepped into the light with the first wave of thrash metal bands like Anthrax, Overkill, Agent Steel, etc. This live album was recorded at the famous Hammersmith Odeon at April, 10th 1989, but got into the stores with delay. Remixed at Butterfields Studio in January 1992. It is a kind of best of and gives a decent overlook of Nuclear Assault's career up to 1989. With less then 34 minutes it's quite short, but the sound quality is good and the atmosphere of the show is banned on disc. Even if there are albums where the atmosphere is more intense. The kick off the set with The New Song, a track in the vain of Nuclear Assault's former releases. The voice of John Connelly is still what divides the thrash metal heads into fans or not. Perhaps the weakest factor in their sound... Nothing to complain about the musical side. Most of the songs are known by thrash metal fans and so I don't need to go into detail. Setlist please see below. One highlight is definitely Game Over. The album has 14 tracks, but some are less then a minute long and more kinds sound / song fragments or intros... Mother's Day is a very short and angry song which is introduced by bassist Dan Lilker - if I identify the voice right.... My America and Hang The Pope are more like some punk songs... Anyway, it seems that the band and fans enjoyed the show. If you like thrash metal, then this might be interesting for you. If you are a fan of Nuclear Assault and never saw them live, this gives you an idea about the New Yorkers.

Track list:
  1. Intro / The New Song
  2. Critical Mass
  3. Game Over
  4. Nightmares
  5. B.F.
  6. Survive
  7. Torture Tactics
  8. Trail Of Tears
  9. Mother's Day
  10. My America
  11. Hang The Pope
  12. Lesbians
  13. Funky Noise
  14. Good Times Bad Times

7 stars

Claudia Ehrhardt


           2008-2010 by Claudia Ehrhardt • E-Mail:

Bands N