Ice Vajal :: Music Land :: Metal World
editorial :: feedback :: newsletter ::  
   Bands :: A-Z / L / Little Feat /

On disc: Little Feat

Live at Rockpalast - Gisela Schmitz -

Live at Rockpalast

Live at Rockpalast
(Eagle Vision - 2009)

In the year 1977 the German TV channel WDR showed a band called Little Feat. It was the beginning of a new era on TV, the Rockpalast era. A little early they showed parts of a Rory Gallagher concert. The German media gave them a German nickname - and got it totally wrong - meaning 'little feet'. But it wasn't easy to keep up with their old folks boogie blues... Years later minds had changed about Little Feat and their show at Rockpalast. Many rock fans had Little Feat albums and so the band returned to Europe to play live. Unfortunately they became just another old American classic rock band. They got older and the line-up changed, so you can't compare them with their heydays. With Skin It Black they chose a track which isn't overly catchy which didn't make it easy for the music fans at the concert and in front of the TV. The next song, Fat Man In The Bathtub, lacks the spirit... Perhaps they just been nervous, coz then they really improved with Oh Atlanta. The performance got better and so they were more focused which was show during the outstanding instrumental passages. Especially the famous Dixie Chicken with about 12 min. running time became a highlight of the show. Even back then you could recognize that this was the beginning of an era, the beginning of a rock band with extra-ordinary musicians. The bonus at the DVD was recorded during the rehearsals at Essen's Grugahalle. The footage of the rehearsals show that the band was focused and prepared to perform. Now let's talk about what most will be interested in when it comes to old recordings. The sound quality is quite good, but the recordings are more then 30 years old. And so the DVD has a nostalgic edge, the images are a bit dark and have a dynamic which was en vogue back then. At that days it was easier to please the fans, anyway, this DVD of Little Feat is a must-have for rockers - young and old!

Track list:

1. Skin It Back
2. Fat Man In The Bathtub
3. Oh, Atlanta
4. Day At The Dog Races
5. All That You Dream
6. Old Folks' Boogie
7. Dixie Chicken
8. Tripe Face Boogie
9. Feats Don't Fail Me Now
10. Willin'
11. Rocket In My Pocket

Bonus - rehearsal tracks:

12. Old Folks' Boogie
13. Fat Man In The Bathtub
14. Rock'n'Roll Doctor
15. Skin It Back/Fat Man In The Bathtub
16. Oh, Atlanta
17. Willin'

Gisela Schmitz
(translation: Claudia Ehrhardt)


           2008-2010 by Claudia Ehrhardt • E-Mail:

Bands L